I had tried to get a photographer for the past couple of weeks for a family holiday portrait, and all I could think of was “this is the last happy snapshot of this family.”

Unable to get her scheduled and unable to wait any longer, I shaved my beard off and listened to the expected, “Ahhh, but it was so nice” comments, which burned my heart, for I know what I’m about to start, and it scares the crap out of me.

I don’t know what’s going to happen in 2007, but it is certainly not going to be like 2006. I see this break between the two calendar years as a stark break between auld lang syne, or the good old days, and a brave new world. I need to say farewell to this old self, but I’m afraid to do so.

Should auld acquaintance be forgot
and never brought to mind?
Should auld acquaintance be forgot
and days of auld lang syne?
For auld lang syne, my dear,
for auld lang syne,
we’ll take a cup of kindness yet,
for auld lang syne.

Should auld acquaintance be forgot
and never brought to mind?
Should auld acquaintance be forgot
and days of auld lang syne?
And here’s a hand, my trusty friend
And gie’s a hand o’ thine
We’ll tak’ a cup o’ kindness yet
For auld lang syne